Formatting the player

This operation restores the player to its factory settings. The following data will be permanently deleted and cannot be recovered.

  • Content such as music and photos in the internal memory of the player
  • Google Account information on the player
  • Downloaded apps

Save a backup copy in advance. Be careful not to delete important data.
By proceeding with the following operation, you agree to the deletion of data stored on the player.

  1. Swipe the [WALKMAN Home] screen upwards.
  2. Tap the menu items in the following order.
    [Settings] - [System] - [Reset options].
  3. Tap [Erase all data (factory reset)].

    Depending on the version of your player’s system software, the on-screen display may not be the same as that explained in this Help Guide. In such a case, follow the on-screen instructions of the player.

  4. Confirm the message carefully, and then tap [Erase all data].

    Enter the PIN, password, or pattern if necessary.

  5. Confirm the reconfirmation message, and then tap [Erase all data].

    It may take a few minutes to complete formatting.
    When formatting is complete, the player will restart automatically.

Hint

  • When formatting is complete, the player will restore its preinstalled content.

  • When you back up a music file from “Music player”, you can check the location of the file. Confirm [File location] under [Detailed song information]. To display the information, tap the menu items in the following order.
    • From the playback screen in “Music player”:
      (Options) - [Detailed song information].
    • From the library screen, play queue screen, or favorites screen in “Music player”:
      (Context menu) - [Detailed song information].

Note

  • If the player is turned off during formatting, the formatting process may not complete properly. Perform formatting with a sufficient battery level remaining.
  • Sony does not guarantee performance if you format the memory of the player using a computer.

The contents of the Help Guide may be subject to change without notice due to updates to the product's specifications.